“The book is divided into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose. Deals with a different pain. Heals a different heartache. Milk and Honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.”

On a bus traveling south, with a smile on my face as I recalled my adventurous weekend, I pulled out this book, and read with the setting sun. I had been meaning to read this since it was given to me as a Christmas gift from one of my best friends and now I finally had my chance. I didn’t know what to expect but what I was given, was beautiful.

As a women, I’ve experienced moments in my life that could never be fully explained in words. Heartbreak will do that to you and for my whole healing process, I couldn’t put my feelings into words. Now as I have distanced my self from the toxicity, the words don’t need to be said and so I haven’t thought of it in depth for some time.

As I turned the pages of the book, imagine my surprise when suddenly, the words I never could think to say, or ones I thought no one else would understand…were there, right in front of me.

Rupi Kaur is a Canadian, feminist poet who published this book when she was just 21. And though there were parts of her book I have never experienced, her book gave me a sense of closure for the toxic relationship I couldn’t be rid of for years.

159d449f9fb4c99102823ac8c9e518e7

I highly recommend this book. This book that made me write poetry as soon as I put it down. This book that made me lose my breath and tear up with understanding. We all deserve to find the words that left us when we needed them most.

So, enjoy milk and honey…

 

See you soon,

Dev

Leave a Reply

