Hello…it’s me!

IMG_6973.JPG

This past week I was tasked to create a personal website for my Marketing for Artists in the Digital Age class (my favorite class). I was nervous, not going to lie. I had no idea what my website was going to be about. Though I am an active artist and budding arts manager, I have been trying to find myself as an artist so I don’t have a lot of content. But then it dawned on me… my website should just be about all the things that make me who I am.

I am an artist, first and foremost. A singer, drawer, painter, amateur photographer, the list goes on. But I’m also obsessed with nature, light, summer, adventure, working out, the beach, my friends and family, etc. Like all of us, we have so many interests and things to celebrate and I didn’t want to lose any of that by just focusing in on what defines me as an artist. So I decided to celebrate it all, and frankly, I’m really proud of the work I have done.

IMG_7391.JPG

The website is full of my designs, info about me, and photos. I love the act of capturing moments and I’m not ashamed to say that I love a good selfie as well. So I wanted my viewers to have a sort of insight on what my life is like. A theme throughout the website is my undying love for color. Don’t get me wrong, though my wardrobe may be full of black clothing, color is one of my favorite things in the entire world. So my website is brilliant and rich with color because it resembles how bold and complex I am as a person. IMG_7737.JPG

Ya know it’s funny. In the early stages of the website, I facetimed my parents to get some feedback on the design and one of the biggest things my mom had to comment on… was the font. Originally it was clean and simple, but when my mom asked me what it made me think of, the first word out of my mouth was “young”. She asked “what made you pick this?” and my response was “it’s clean and simple”. My mom who knows me better than most, said “but Dev, you’re not simple. You’re complex.”

At first this made me upset because I didn’t want to be complex. But as I thought about it more. Complex is beautiful. It’s strong. It’s me. Full of lush hues that create all the parts that make Dev.

This website was an assignment originally. But it became a celebration of myself and my creative abilities. One I hope you all enjoy.

https://devonrooney11.wixsite.com/mysite

See ya soon,

Dev

Leave a Reply

